Posted in Addiction, Life

Hello and I’m an Addict!

Good day everyone, my name is Joel and I’m an addict.
It all started when I was growing up and I was exposed to this stuff, everyone said it was cool and has lots of benefits. Like every other beginner I started learning, small portions at a time. With time I began trying different types of it, some were a bit too strong to handle at first but on the second and third try, I took it pretty well, enjoying it and moving with it.
There were some types I was not allowed to try at first because it was considered too dangerous for me to handle, but then when I got to school I was exposed to more of this so called ‘dangerous’ stuffs. I was a good kid, believe me, I never meant for it to go this far, constant usage and here I am today. I’m at a level now that I can’t go hours without it, not even days or weeks, but hours! I can’t eat without it, take my bath without it, study without it, hell, I can’t even sleep without having it.

I study Mathematics and I’m in my final year. Right before writing this post, I was trying to prepare for a test on Mathematical Methods III. Few minutes with my books open and I was losing it already. Yea, the course is a little difficult to understand, but that was besides the point because I couldn’t even focus on the basics… I was missing my stuff already.

image

Oh I forgot to add this, I’m a music addict. Probably not what you were expecting, right? Music is to me like  drug is to some people. I don’t do drugs but I’ve heard of people’s stories, from movies most times. Music helps cool my nerves. Given my course of study, it helps me from going insane. Really, maths gets to you the way nothing else ever can. In most of my classes I wonder what the hell I’m doing there. But that aside, music is the one thing that keeps me from losing my head.
I’m certain I am not the only one like that. A lot of people feel that way about music which is why I’m sharing this. Different kinds of music works for different people. Like I once read somewhere, “the earth has music for those who listen”. I don’t recall ever meeting anyone who doesn’t like music, the type may differ, and how much passion you have for it.
So yes, I’m an addict, talk of Passenger’s songs, Taylor Swift’s, Don Wiliiams’, Owl City’s… these artists songs really get to me. For some people, it’s Rock, others Pop, Jazz, Alternate Rock…you name it, and lots of people are addicted to it without knowing they are.

 

For me, it’s music, for others it may not imagebe. It’s true that everybody’s addicted to something… But that’s a discussion for another day.
The question now is, is there a cure or even, does it have any disadvantage? Can too much of music harm you? I’ve heard people say, music is the food of the soul, what exactly does music do in your head?

Joel Ogunjimi © 2015

Author:

Joel O. is a mathematician with a passion for writing who believes in the power of the mind and what can be achieved if one can 'imagine' it and work towards it.. He is a writer, a poet and a blogger. He is also an editor for Rainbow Chaussure and Executive Editor at Dalet Institute.

2 thoughts on “Hello and I’m an Addict!

Leave a Reply

