Posted in Life, Truth

Speak When You’re Angry…

Everyone has some sort of advice to give about speaking when angry, how dangerous it could be, and humiliating afterwards. How you would come to regret what you’ve said when the anger fades…blah blah blah. Lawrence J Peter said, ‘speak when you’re angry and you will make the best speech you will ever regret’. That’s a great caution, makes you make up your mind to keep quiet when you are angry.

Makes you want to be very careful about what you let come out of your mouth when the blood in your veins are boiling with rage…until you’re faced with that ultimate choice, the choice of keeping quiet when angry. The easy part is making up your mind to keep mute in that kind of situation, but the real work is in actually keeping mute in that moment of rage.
This week, I was faced with such situation. Okay, normally, I tend to be hot-tempered, something I’ve been working on and, thank God I’m learning to tolerate people. But in a case where I’m in a mood and I get angry, well, let’s just say, it doesn’t go well. No matter how hard I’ve made up my mind to compose myself, there are still times I lose it… That makes me work on myself, learn to actually stay cool and keep quiet, no matter how hard I want to say what’s on my mind, because when you’re angry, what’s on your mind is not always the right thing, as it has been clouded with negative emotions. Its not easy at first, but with time you get there.

My advice? Don’t be so confident you will keep quiet, the real work is keeping quiet, so work on yourself, so you don’t end up wishing you hadn’t said a thing.

Joel Ogunjimi © 2015

Author:

Joel O. is a mathematician with a passion for writing who believes in the power of the mind and what can be achieved if one can 'imagine' it and work towards it.. He is a writer, a poet and a blogger. He is also an editor for Rainbow Chaussure and Executive Editor at Dalet Institute.

Leave a Reply

