Posted in Addiction, Life, love

Last Night, In My Sleep…

As I lay in my bed, exhausted from the days work, I yawn and stretch… Finally, I thought, I will sleep and relax, I will regain my strength and be refreshed by morning. I use no pill tonight to help me sleep, no medication to ease the pain, I’m not numbing the pain, not tonight, I might be addicted to the pill but I need to fall asleep all by myself….
I was so tired that in no time, sweet relaxing sleep envelops me, and with pleasure, I let it take me into its waiting arms…. Last night, I slept like a baby, sweetly and soundly.

Then, in the comfort of the darkness, in the quiet of the night, as I lay sleeping soundly, she walked into my dream. Beautiful, how beautiful she looked. Just like a princess in this world will look, she looked twice as that. I could see clearly in my dreams, every detail of her face. I walked up to her on the queue, God knows what we were queuing for.  I started to say hello and she turned and smiled at me, a radiant glowing smile, I could have sworn my heart stopped for a second or two. And not just my heart, but the whole world stopped too. We talked and laughed, I can’t remember what about, until the one she was with walked up to claim her from me, but she was going to go anywhere with me, this girl of my dream would go anywhere with me…. I would go to the ends of the world with her.
Our paths somehow crossed in dreamland…what I would give to have it cross in real life! She was a beauty and I felt like I’ve known her all my life… As I walked with her, talking and laughing, I was aroused by music playing, this isn’t from my dream, it became louder and before my eyes, the girl of my dreams swiftly vanished like smoke. I open my eyes and I noticed my roommate was playing a song that sounds horrible to me for it took an angel away from me. I had overslept but I tried to fall asleep once more, to see if she would come back. Five, ten minutes and I couldn’t go back to sleep, so I give up today.
Last night, I had the best dream I wish didn’t have to end, and tonight and every night that follows, I’ll go to bed, praying the girl of my dream visits again.

Joel Ogunjimi © 2015

Author:

Joel O. is a mathematician with a passion for writing who believes in the power of the mind and what can be achieved if one can 'imagine' it and work towards it.. He is a writer, a poet and a blogger. He is also an editor for Rainbow Chaussure and Executive Editor at Dalet Institute.

Leave a Reply

