Posted in Life

Nostalgia…

I’ve grown, days, months and years have passed. I’m not the kid I used to be. Gradually I’m becoming the man I’m meant to be. I’ve seen my little share of good and bad days…
Slowly shaping and making me,
Reforming and molding me,

It has taken twenty years and some months, but here is an image still not fully developed. Daily, little pieces are added like to a jigsaw puzzle, new sections are painted, to form a bigger picture…
But no rush, no hurry
For in due time, I’ll be fully developed and properly formed, ready for whatever comes.

These past few days though, I’ve been having this strange feeling, a longing for what’s past, they say it’s called nostalgia…

I’ve been longing for places I once knew, places of solace.
I’ve been longing for days of wisdom, of things I’ve said and things I’ve heard, people I used to know, people I called friends..
A longing for who I was, who I stopped being along the way.
A longing for precious moments, how I felt, dear and passionate and captivating feelings…

But as time turns flame to ember, until it gradually and finally dies, so has this feelings been quenched and only a longing is left like smoke after the fire’s out, and an ache. The love, the laughter, the people, the precious moments, all memories now.
But though I’m not fully formed, yet have I learnt a little something; that it’s okay to grow up and outgrow certain things, that people come into our lives, some to stay and some not to but that they all teach us something, invaluable lessons that we need along life’s journey. That once certain people have imparted their precious lessons, and its time to go, I let go because it’s the end of that road and I should appreciate every moment we traveled together, and move on with my journey.

So though I feel nostalgic, with these thoughts I comfort myself.

Joel Ogunjimi © 2015

Author:

Joel O. is a mathematician with a passion for writing who believes in the power of the mind and what can be achieved if one can 'imagine' it and work towards it.. He is a writer, a poet and a blogger. He is also an editor for Rainbow Chaussure and Executive Editor at Dalet Institute.

Leave a Reply

