Posted in Addiction, Life, love

Lust and Longing

Searching for a memory, hoping to give life to it, a time of fulfilled longing… a cherished time and happy time. A longing for someone from a long time ago, it seems like ages now. Someone I used to know so well I gave myself to. Someone I shared a memory and a time with. Someone always in my thoughts… but all gone with time even as with time it came.


Funny way life works, bringing a taking a longing only it can quench. At first, the one is no more and then the other knows not. It seems like a mystery to all and what can be done is known to none. But I watch and wait for a time from long ago, a memory from a world lost, to rekindle, to come to life, to be born again… for with its loss, a lust died within me, and now a lust it seems can save me.

But saving is beyond me, for love lost is not what taunts my night vision, for if it were that, I could love again…but a lost lust taunts my waking thoughts. I plead for a release like from a blood covenant. It’s a longing that cannot be quenched for it is a longing for lust. From that I seek freedom, but none seems to know a way out, and alone I bear the flame of its wants.

Author:

Joel O. is a mathematician with a passion for writing who believes in the power of the mind and what can be achieved if one can 'imagine' it and work towards it.. He is a writer, a poet and a blogger. He is also an editor for Rainbow Chaussure and Executive Editor at Dalet Institute.

Leave a Reply

