Posted in Life, Truth

Arsonist or Firefighter

I was watching the latest episode of the TV series, Quantico last night and a statement from it registered in my mind, “you can’t be the arsonist and be the firefighter at the same time”. As I heard it, it made me realize that, that’s what so many people do today, start a fire and then try to quench it like that will make everything better, try to be the hero when they are to blame in the first place.

You can’t poison me and then pretend to run around to get me the antidote to save me, nope. You cant steal from me and then go ahead and give back to me in the name of charity…it just doesn’t work like that. You can only be one of the two at a time. You either be a thief or you be my benefactor, you either be my killer or be my saviour, not both. You either be the arsonist or be the firefighter, never both. You can’t be the one who breaks my heart by disappointing me over and over again till I fall sick and then be by my side taking care of me…I mean, what’s the point?

What’s the point in starting a fire and then trying to be the hero who quenches it. Why personate as a caring person, one who wants to do good, one who would never do anything to hurt anyone when in reality, you’re not so caring.

My point? Be a devil or be a saviour, don’t bother trying to be both, it never works out well… In the end, your true colour will always show.

Author:

Joel O. is a mathematician with a passion for writing who believes in the power of the mind and what can be achieved if one can 'imagine' it and work towards it.. He is a writer, a poet and a blogger. He is also an editor for Rainbow Chaussure and Executive Editor at Dalet Institute.

Leave a Reply

