Posted in Life, Truth

Lessons from Life 2

Life may give me similar memories from different experiences, but from each I’ve learnt a unique lesson and these lessons are priceless. Like Paul said the the Bible, “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child…”. But I learnt as life’s student. Then I became a bigger child – a teenager and I thought I was a grown up. I became arrogant, I knew more than everyone, even the so-called grown ups and no one understood the things I was going through – at least that’s what i thought. I claimed things had changed from what the grown ups used to know, that it was a new world, our world! and they had no idea how things are done in it… Boy, was I naïve!

But despite my naivety, ignorance and stubbornness, life didn’t stop teaching, and believe me, it was the toughest learning period of my life so far. Because I wasn’t willing to learn. As “stupid” as I was, I became equally vulnerable to life’s tough lessons and I never stopped learning. I know this because at certain points in my life, when I face a particular situation and I look back to a moment when I had encountered something similar. No matter how badly I had handled it back then, I was able to pick out a better way, it could have gone and I subconsciously apply it now.
Sometimes, it’s not as simple and straightforward as that. In fact sometimes, it would take several lessons before one finally learns, but as one of my friends would say, “no one is born stupid…no matter how long it takes, everyone learns in the end”.
image

I’ve been one to look away from people who seem to be too stubborn to see the truth and learn. “I don’t have the time to teach”, I would say. But after a conversation with this same wise friend, who told me that there was a time I was “dumb”, now that I’m no longer dumb, that means someone didn’t give up on me. Life had kept teaching me and it had used various means and various people to teach me. Some people don’t have the ability or patience to learn the way I did, so helping others learn should be one of my duties as a human. I began to think differently.
I think, that’s one of the ways to make the world a better place. Helping others, not only in giving material things, but also in sharing life lessons we’ve learnt. When we make it our duty to shed the light on someone else’s path, in no time, the whole world will be filled with millions of burning lights.
It’s true that, a candle won’t lose its light by lighting another...

Author:

Joel O. is a mathematician with a passion for writing who believes in the power of the mind and what can be achieved if one can 'imagine' it and work towards it.. He is a writer, a poet and a blogger. He is also an editor for Rainbow Chaussure and Executive Editor at Dalet Institute.

Leave a Reply

