Posted in Stories

Bad Reaction

It was a dark starless night. The kind of night in which random murders and rapes happen in the movies. An eerie stillness was in the woods around the house and the croaking of the frogs in the nearby pond was gone. I had heard the now familiar disturbance at first when everyone left for the vigil but now it was all gone. It was my first night alone in the house and I knew I could do it even though the house seemed to be in the middle of nowhere. It was nothing difficult – staying home alone – because, I’m a man.

“Nothing would happen to me.” I kept telling my parents as they prepared for church, with my little sister.

“Are you sure you can’t try to come?” my mother had asked.

“No mom, I’m too sick to stay up all night. I need to rest.”

When they left, I laid down on the long couch in front of the TV. House of Wax was showing and I was about to cover myself with a blanket when the lights went off. That was a normal thing and I knew it would be back in a few minutes since it was our day on, so I stayed there and waited. And that was when I noticed the unnerving quiet.

I peered out the window, there was no light or movement anywhere, at least not at first. So I decided to turn on my phone’s flashlight so I could locate the rechargeable lamp but it was not in the sitting room so I decided to check the other rooms. Then I heard a bang on the front door that made me jump. I hadn’t heard anyone walk up to the door and there was nobody in the neighbourhood to knock on our day in about five kilometres radius. We were leaving in a new house in the middle of nowhere.

“Who’s there?” I asked but there was no response.

There was silence again and I began to move to my room when I heard a screeching noise coming from my room. I didn’t know what was happening so I went back to the sitting room to wait for the light to come back on. I had not settled down when I heard the loud knock on the door again and then someone – or something – kicked in the door. I was petrified as I watched three shapes walk towards me. The first shape was a green cylinder with black legs while the other was all blue and round. The third one was pink and it stayed at the entrance. They all had long necks and didn’t look like anything from this world. The first shape growled at me but I couldn’t move, then the two shapes dragged me off the couch – I didn’t know how as they were shining so brightly it hurt my eyes.

I remembered reading that aliens were in our midst and that they abduct people to perform all sorts of experiment on them. I guessed they had come for me as well and I became even more certain when I was dragged out and saw a large golden yellow saucer sitting in front of our house. It looked like a UFO and as terrified as I was, I found it intriguing. The first shape growled again and somehow I understood the growl this time. It was asking me if I was alright. I nodded and then it placed me in the UFO and it began to fly the saucer. I asked where they were taking me and the second shape growled back that they were taking me to the clinic. I thought the clinic was where they performed the experiments. The little pink shape touched my face and I found it soothing, so I closed my eyes.

I must have drifted off because when I opened my eyes, I was in a hospital room with drip attached to my arm. I tried to move but my head hurt so badly and then I heard my mom’s voice.

“Just stay still Segun.” She said with relief.

“Mom? What happened?” I asked groggily.

“You had a bad reaction to the chloroquine drug you took earlier. The doctor said you were lucky we came back home for your dad’s bible when we did or else it would have been something else by morning. Few more minutes and you would have been hallucinating. Thank God.”

Author:

Joel O. is a mathematician with a passion for writing who believes in the power of the mind and what can be achieved if one can 'imagine' it and work towards it.. He is a writer, a poet and a blogger. He is also an editor for Rainbow Chaussure and Executive Editor at Dalet Institute.

Leave a Reply

