Posted in Life, Salient Thoughts, Truth

Selfish

The one constant thing I’ve always cared about is myself. In any situation I find myself, anywhere, any time, the one thing I think about is how I can leave a better me or gain from whatever situation I am….or at least, even if I can’t gain, I should be able to leave without losing. That sounds selfish, I know. In fact, very selfish, I know too.
But the thing is, if I don’t care about myself and becoming better and gaining or in the least break even, who else will?

Selfishness is what makes me want to be heard and as a writer, it is what makes me want my work to be seen as different and appreciated.

It is what makes me want to know more about something so that I can use it to my advantage when the need for it comes.

It is that same selfishness that some mistake for narcissism, but there is a fine line between both.

I admit that I am selfish because I want to be better than I was yesterday and if it takes paying extra attention to myself by picking up various healthy books to read when I could be hanging out with friends or devoting my time to studying what I find fascinating instead of committing myself to someone who would take my time and invade my thoughts so much that I can’t focus on something else, then so be it, I’d gladly be selfish.

Because in the end, it’s what I’ve learned, it’s what I know, it’s who I’ve become that distinguishes me from you and everyone else.

I believe a bit of selfishness is healthy for growth.

Some may argue the fact that growth is something you help each other do and while I don’t dispute that fact, I say there are some times you have to look away from the distractions around and focus on yourself. There are some times you have to be selfish with your time and who you spend it with, and who you relate with because you know it goes a long way in determining who and what you become.

Author:

Joel O. is a mathematician with a passion for writing who believes in the power of the mind and what can be achieved if one can 'imagine' it and work towards it.. He is a writer, a poet and a blogger. He is also an editor for Rainbow Chaussure and Executive Editor at Dalet Institute.

2 thoughts on “Selfish

Leave a Reply

