Posted in Life

Leaving and Living

​Many a time, I have wondered what it would feel like to just get up and leave;

Leave the life I know behind,

Leave the limitations behind,

Leave the huddles I encounter everyday,

The depressions and lack,

To leave and travel towards a safe haven

Towards the better life that’s always been out of reach,

Towards happiness that seems to always find a way to elude me.
I’ve been dreaming of leaving.

Of seeing new places and new faces

And learning new things
I’ve been dreaming of living

Of putting aside the fears and anxiety

And start living and not just exist.
I’ve been dreaming of loving

Of letting go in another’s arms

And allowing someone else in.
I’ve been thinking a lot of late

Of life and the future 

How everything I want in life seems to be hidden in the future

How much I have dreamed of a better life

And how little I have acted in order to get it

.
I stopped dreaming…

For I realised how much dreams I’ve dreamed.

I started living…

For I realised that’s the only way those dreams would ever become reality.

I stopped wondering how it would feel like to leave;

For I realised being here wasn’t the problem

Rather, being here and doing nothing but wonder was the problem,

So instead of leaving, I started living.
Now the dreams I dreamed long ago are becoming reality

And the ‘wonderings’ I’d bottled up in me

Started manifesting, when I gave up fear and the limitation it brought.

And now I’m not just living each day, I’m learning to live better.

Author:

Joel O. is a mathematician with a passion for writing who believes in the power of the mind and what can be achieved if one can 'imagine' it and work towards it.. He is a writer, a poet and a blogger. He is also an editor for Rainbow Chaussure and Executive Editor at Dalet Institute.

2 thoughts on “Leaving and Living

Leave a Reply

